You are here

AMC Math Test

Submitted by david.thacker on Mon, 11/22/2010 - 08:53
Mr. Bingham

The American Mathematics Contest  8 (AMC8) is a 25 question, 40 minute multiple choice examination in middle school mathematics designed to promote the development and enhancement of problem solving skills. This school year it was held  November 18, 2010

The examination provides an opportunity to apply the concepts taught at the junior high level to problems which not only range from easy to difficult but also cover a wide range of applications. Many problems are designed to challenge students and to offer problem solving experiences beyond those provided in most junior high school mathematics classes.

Additional purposes of the AMC 8 are to promote excitement, enthusiasm and positive attitudes towards mathematics and to stimulate interest in continuing the study of mathematics beyond the minimum required for high school graduation. Developmentally, junior high school students are at a point where attitudes toward school and learning, and perceptions of themselves as learners of mathematics are solidified. It is important that they be provided opportunities that foster the development of positive attitudes towards mathematics and positive perceptions of themselves as learners of mathematics. The AMC 8 provides one such opportunity.

These are the Spanish Fork Jr. High students who participated this year;

Haleigh Barber              Cody Campbell

Samantha Brockbank    Kenadee Limb

Bethany Wride              Dylan Hunter

Olivia Christian              John Horton

Ammon Flint                 Jadon Devoraux

Garret Parry                  Alyson Jardine

Paige Robbins               Brady Bott

 Mitchell Stone               Michael Cannon

Travis Beckstrom           Kaytlin Davis

Allison Brinton               Morgan Harrison

Lauren Parker                 Madeline Jones

Bailey Smith                   Chelsey Westwood

Elise Wilson                   Devri Adams

Mikell Henningson           Seth Erickson

Adom Boden                   Katelyn Gallacher

Hunter Schofield              Rachel Hutchings

Mickayla Jensen               Erik Johnson

Marianna Tonga               Emily Miller

Sariah Lee                        Dalan Nelson

Jacob McKee                   Chad Peterson

Jonathon Hill                     Joseph Shearer

Amada Hines                    Madeline Townsend

Brandon Coffman             Wade Meservy