You are here

Poetry Slam Winners!

Submitted by david.thacker on Wed, 04/30/2014 - 09:10
By Rillene R. E. Nielsen

What do you get when you take 55 junior high student, ask them to memorize a poem of their own choosing, then ask them to perform it in font a crowd of parents and peers?

One awe inspiring Poetry Slam! Congrats and thanks to all who setup, took down, worked behind the scenes and in front of the curtain, those who ran errands, created and printed programs, coached, prodded, and promised bonus points to students if they would only give it a try.

Most of all, thank you students for your performances and the passion with which you delivered your poems.

You are rock stars! Poetry rules!

It's official! We have our Poetry Slam winners!
For Dramatic Poetry: 1st Bella Lewis (not pictured), 2nd Sarah Wessman, 3rd Amanda Gould
For Humorous Poetry: 1st Rachel Hicken, 2nd Devan Ethington, 3rd Rachel Johnson
For Original Poetry: 1st Meg Nelson, 2nd Desha Dalton, 3rd Logan McGraw and Talia McKinney